CanIndia News – NDA Allies and Congress to Benefit from Indirect Voting Results in Upcoming Election


Victory in Saturday’s by-elections in nine seats in three northeastern states – Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram – could offer an advantage to main rival rivals – the BJP and its NDA allies, and Congress, ahead of the next election. In the region.

The outcome of the by-elections, scheduled for November 2, is important as BJP-led Manipur will go to the polls early next year, although the Meghalaya and Mizoram, ruled by the National People’s Party (NPP ) and the Mizo National Front (MNF), respectively, would not see polls until 2023.

The NPP and the MNF are both members of the National Democratic Alliance.

Another NDA ally in Nagaland – the Democratic Nationalist Progressive Party (NDPP) led by Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio – won the only assembly seat – Shamator-Chessore – without opposition.

Political commentator and writer Sushanta Talukdar said: “The BJP and Congress have high interests in Assam and the outcome of the bypolls is likely to influence upcoming Assembly polls in neighboring states. “

“The BJP, in alliance with its junior partners, is already leading governments in Assam, Tripura, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh. Allies of the Saffron Party lead the government in the four other northeastern states.

“All eight northeastern states were previously dominated by Congress and non-BJP parties, but the BJP is now becoming a major force in the region,” Talukdar, editor of the multilingual online portal, told IANS. nose “.

Political observers say Saturday’s by-elections were the litmus test for ruling and opposition parties as well as local parties, which fielded candidates in all nine seats, and could split the vote share of the main challengers – BJP and Congress.

Political commentator and academician Apurba Kumar Dey has said that there are many anti-titular factors against the BJP-led Assam government and the NPP-dominated Meghalaya government.

“The result of Saturday’s by-elections would clearly show how much the main opposition Congress is capitalizing on these vital factors,” Dey told IANS.

The BJP fielded candidates in three of the five Assembly seats in Assam and all three are defectors – Rupjyoti Kurmi of Congress in Mariani and Sushanta Borgohain in Thowra, and Phanidhar Talukdar of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF ) in Bhabanipur. Ally UPPL disputes the other two.

Congress, which fielded candidates in all five seats, at least tried to retain the seats of Thowra and Mariani, which they won in the last polls.

The AIUDF had presented candidates in Bhabanipur and Gossaigaon, Raijor Dal led by Akhil Gogoi was running in Thowra and Mariani, and the Bodoland Popular Front (BPF) led by Hagrama Mahilary (BPF) in Gossaigaon.

The AIUDF and BPF were members of the 10 “Mahajot” (grand alliance) parties led by Congress in the March-April Assembly polls.

The by-elections were made necessary due to the Covid-related deaths of two sitting MPs belonging to the UPPL and BPF, while two congressmen and the AIUDF legislator joined the BJP after leaving their Assembly .

In Meghalaya, the NPP, led by Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma, and Congress fielded candidates in all three seats, while the BJP, which is part of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA), dominated by the NPP, fielded a candidate in Rajabala.

Another MDA partner, the United Democratic Party, also put forward a candidate for Mawphlang, causing a possible split of votes among the ruling partners and some advantages for Congress.

The polls were made necessary following the deaths of three sitting MPs: David A Nongrum (Congress, Mawryngkneng), Azad Zaman (UDP, Rajabala) and Syntar Klas Sunn (Independent, Mawphlang).

In Mizoram, proxy voting at the Tuirial was made necessary following the death of the incumbent Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) lawmaker, Andrew H. Thangliana.

Four candidates – K. Laldawngliana from the ruling Mizo National Front, Laltlanmawia from ZPM, Chalrosanga Ralte from Congress and K. Laldinthara from BJP are in the fray.

(Sujit Chakraborty can be contacted at [email protected])


sc / vd


Leave A Reply